A royal garden party

View of the royal wedding garden party from the Powis Castle terraces. ©National Trust/Emma Marshall

To celebrate the recent royal wedding, the colleagues at Powis Castle threw open the garden for free and invited everyone to come and watch the event on a giant screen.

A local marching band led a procession to Powis from nearby Welshpool, including the Mayor and many people in wedding costume and fancy dress. In all over 5,000 people came and the atmosphere was very festive.

5 Responses to “A royal garden party”

  1. style court Says:

    Sounds delightful. In Atlanta the festive mood lingers; one boutique has filled all the picture frames for sale with magazine cut-outs from the wedding. Although the original intent was probably a bit tongue-in-cheek, the impact is upbeat and it’s a great conversation piece.

  2. CherryPie Says:

    I was impressed when I saw that Powis Castle was opening its doors for a public celebration of the Royal event. I knew everyone who attended would have a good time.

    Even without such a ceremonious occasion it ranks in my top 4 favourite gardens to visit ;-)

  3. Emile de Bruijn Says:

    Courtney, the enthusiasm for the royal wedding in the US is amazing.

    Cherie, what are the other three in your top four favourite gardens?

  4. CherryPie Says:

    My other three (in no particular order) are:

    Hodnet Hall Gardens (Shropshire)

    The Alnwick Garden (Northumberland)

    Abbey House Gardens (Wiltshire)

    I still have many unvisited gardens on my ‘to visit list’ so my favourite garden list may well increase.

    Of all the gardens I visit Powis and Hodnet Hall are the ones I visit the most.

  5. Emile de Bruijn Says:

    I didn’t know about Hodnet Hall – a late Edwardian woodland garden, if I see that correctly from the images – how interesting. And both Alniwck and Abbey House are lush and abundant gardens set against historic backdrops – I can see why you would like Powis as well :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 749 other followers

